I’ll upload a screen shot of this soon, but in case you’re wondering what the latest virus to hit my email box was, it was an email saying that they had shipped my order of a WAY overpriced logitech quick cam and a decently overpriced external hard drive ($207 & $227 respectively).
There was a link, that said that it went to yesasia.com, but the under link actually pointed to a zip file at yesasia-support.com. Be very wary if you click a link that appears to go to a website, but instead downloads a file to your computer. If you made the mistake of downloading it, then I recommend not unzipping it. I did not confirm that this was definitely a virus, but it is certainly fishy, considering we didn’t order this merchandise.
Here is the virus laden link (DO NOT DOWNLOAD unless researching): http://yesasia-support.com/eng/view/invoices/Invoice-2184892610.zip
Here is a pic of the email:

My wife just got that email. She fwd’ it to me, since I’m in the computer field and immediately knew what it was.
my wife just woke me up from a nap to ask if I’d ordered a webcam or knew if our kids could have accidentally ordered one somehow through our AOL account. I looked over the e-mail saying they had billed my “credit card” for the same overpriced items as you described. I was likewise suspicious of the “underlink” pointing to yesasia-support.com instead of yesasia.com. Not a security expert, but wonder if it is designed to install malicious files on your system or if it is intended to take you to a phishing website in an attempt to collect account and password info from people that really have yesasia accounts.
Another suspicious element of the e-mail and good clue that it isn’t authentic: it references billing your “credit card” but make no reference to an actual credit card account number that would have to be known for an online sale and is normally included on e-mail invoices from internet purchases.
Thanks for the post. I was glad to search the web, find your blog, and confirm my own suspicions.
So, my wife just told me she got this email thinking I had ordered this overpriced stuff. She also opened it and clicked on the .zip file enclosed in the link before she asked me about it. Can’t tell if its done anything. Any ideas on removal. I’m running AVG and just downloaded Avast! because AV didn’t find anything..
Whenever I personally get a virus or even a chance of one (because it may not be obvious) I back up everything and restore my device clean. I can’t risk losing my bank access or other sensitive information to an attacker.
I just got this email as well. Coincidentally enough we had a fraudulent charge made to our account just this morning and had to cancel one of our check cards. This scared the living hell out of us! When we went to the invoice and got the .zip file we became suspicious. Thank you for this useful post, we are now worry free!
I just got this same email, addressed to my name (which is freaky). Luckily, I know better than to click on anything that links to a zip file.
Just got one, too.
Luckily, I always first check where the link points to, and frankly first though one of my card’s been skimmed (has happened before).
Even more luckily, the virus is a Windows one (.exe file) and I run Linux.
Go Linux Mint, go!
I think it is important to point out that us Linux/Unix (Mac OSX) folks generally wouldn’t be able to pick this up even if we downloaded. There are new viruses and the steam’s picking up for Mac’s, so everyone be careful. I need a virus like I need a bullet in my arm.
Yup, I just got one too. I know I haven’t ordered anything from this company, so was very suspicious and checked the internets before unzipping anything. I’ll now warn everyone on my friend list on Facebook about this virus email.